Skip to content

Brentano Quartet

Sunday 20 November 2022, 3.00pm

Serena Canin (violin), Mark Steinberg (violin), Misha Amory (viola), Nina Lee (cello)


Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism”; the Philadelphia Inquirer praises its “seemingly infallible instincts for finding the center of gravity in every phrase and musical gesture”; and The Times (London) opines, “the Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet…”.


Dvořák and the American Identity

Spiritual: Deep River

Dvořák. Quartet in A flat Op.105

Dvořák. Lento from Quartet in F, Op.96 (‘American’)

William Grant Still. The Quiet One from Lyric Quartet

Ives. Quartet No.1, Prelude

George Walker. Lyric for Strings

Steven Mackey. “I've Grown So Ugly”

Spirituals: Go Down Moses; Swing Low Sweet Chariot

Pre-concert talk by Richard Wigmore at 2.00pm

More about the Brentano Quartet

Listen to clips of performances of Schubert, Beethoven, Mozart and Mackey on the quartet's website.


Priority booking opens 1 August 2022

General booking opens 22 August 2022