Skip to content

Archive: La Serenissima

Saturday 1 October 2022, 7.30pm


In 1984, a 10-year-old child in Merseyside listened to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons on the radio for the very first time… This encounter resulted in a lifetime’s dedication to the music of 18th-century Venice for violinist Adrian Chandler and the birth of La Serenissima: a world-class ensemble bringing life-affirming Italian baroque music to a global audience.

La Serenissima takes its name from Venice, the magical North Italian city of winding canals and elegant bridges, traditionally known as the Most Serene Republic of Venice.


An Englishman Abroad

Purcell. Chacony for strings

Nicola Matteis the Younger. Concerto for violin & strings in B flat

Antonio Caldara & Nicola Matteis. Overture & Ballo to La Verità nell Inganno

Telemann. Ouverture-Suite in G minor, TWV 55:g5

Brescianello. Ouverture-Suite in C

Vivaldi. La Cetra. Concerto XI in E minor, ‘Il favorito’ RV 277

Brescianello. Chaconne for strings in A

More about La Serenissima

Read more about La Serenissima's story, recordings and performances on their website and listen to them on their YouTube channel.


Book now on our TicketSource page or call the TicketSource booking line on 0333 666 3366.