Skip to content

Archive: Lawrence Power (viola) & Huw Watkins (piano)

Saturday 3 July 2021, 6.00pm

Couperin. Prelude from Première Suite in E minor (Pièces de violes 1728)
Adès. Three Berceuses from ‘The Exterminating Angel’
Brahms. Viola Sonata in F minor Op.120 No.1
Clarke. Viola Sonata (1921)

Lawrence Power is this country’s leading viola player, and Thomas Adès’s Three Berceuses were written especially for him. Power’s programme also includes the authentic viola version of Brahms’s first clarinet sonata, and the sonata by Rebecca Clarke – a major piece familiar to viola players, but deserving more attention from concertgoers at large.

Lawrence Power's website

Huw Watkins' website