Loading Events

« All Events

Lawrence Power (viola) & Simon Crawford-Phillips (piano)

July 3

Saturday 3rd July 2021, 7:30pm
Venue: John Innes Conference Centre

Couperin. Prelude in E minor (Pièces de violes)

Adès. Three Berceuses
Brahms. Viola Sonata in F minor Op.120 No.1
Schumann. Märchenbilder Op.113
Clarke. Viola Sonata (1919)


Lawrence Power is this country’s leading viola player, and Thomas Adès’s Three Berceuses were written especially for him. Power’s programme also includes the authentic viola version of Brahms’s first clarinet sonata, and the sonata by Rebecca Clarke – a major piece familiar to viola players, but deserving more attention from concertgoers at large.



Lawrence Power’s website

Simon Crawford-Phillips’s website


July 3
Event Category: